View all counties in this region

Tyn Cornel Camping & Caravan Park in Gwynedd

  • Photo of Tyn Cornel Camping & Caravan Park
  • Photo of Tyn Cornel Camping & Caravan Park
  • Photo of Tyn Cornel Camping & Caravan Park
  • Photo of Tyn Cornel Camping & Caravan Park
  • Photo of Tyn Cornel Camping & Caravan Park
  • Photo of Tyn Cornel Camping & Caravan Park
  • Photo of Tyn Cornel Camping & Caravan Park
  • Photo of Tyn Cornel Camping & Caravan Park
  • Photo of Tyn Cornel Camping & Caravan Park
  • Photo of Tyn Cornel Camping & Caravan Park
  • Photo of Tyn Cornel Camping & Caravan Park
Please note that photos are not always of the actual campsite

*Please kindly note that Tyn Cornel has been under new management from 2016 - the reviews below are for the previous owners*

If you’re looking for a campsite with easy access to the best Snowdonia National Park has to offer, Tyn Cornel Camping fits the bill.

Nestled on the banks of the river Tryweryn in the foothills of Arenig Fawr, the picturesque setting and high standard of facilities means we cater for everyone – whether you’re after level hardstanding for your caravan or motorhome, electric hook-up for your family tent with space for the kids to play, or a peaceful grassy spot with a picnic bench and fire pit.
Wifi is free and we welcome dogs too.

If you’re after some river action – kayaking, canoeing or whitewater rafting – you can’t beat our location. Tyn Cornel Camping gives you access to white water just a few metres from your pitch and a lovely riverside walk takes you to the popular National White Water Centre in just five minutes.
The outdoor adventure needn’t stop at the riverbank though. If you like hill walking, mountain biking, road cycling or rock climbing the fun is close by.

2016 is Wales’ Year of Adventure and if you enjoy exploring at a more sedate pace, there is plenty to do within easy reach. The market town of Bala, with its beautiful lake, is only 4 miles away. The North Wales coastline, with its gorgeous award-winning beaches, is also nearby and you’ll find it hard to choose which castle or narrow-gauge railway to visit first……..

Whatever floats your boat, we hope to meet you soon!

Stayed at Tyn Cornel Camping & Caravan Park?

Click here to write a review

Your Name
Email address
(not shown)
Date of your stay
Type of accommodation
Review details
Security check
Add your review
Please note that your email address is never divulged to the campsite owner or to any third party. It is simply used to verify your review and to enable us to cut down on spam submissions. There may be a delay of a few days between you submitting your review and it appearing on the site.


Reviews of Tyn Cornel Camping & Caravan Park

We feel we have to write a review, as we totally disagree with the review this wonderful site has had. We have had a seasonal pitch here for three years and we love it. Yes there are rules to abide by, but surely its best to have rules than like many sites we have been on in the past where guests can do what they want, without consideration to others.We have spent many nights listening to people shouting and laughing until early hours of the morning on these such sites!
As for children there is plenty of space on the adjoining playing field for them to play ball games etc.
There is no problem with dogs, we have two, we take them for a walk along the river which is a beautiful walk or they can have a run in the field that is provided for dogs.
We dont understand the comment about the road,you barely notice the small amount of traffic that goes by, we think that was slightly exagerated!
If you like peace and quiet then this is the site for you. After the hectic weeks at work this is the ideal location.
There is so much to see around this beautiful area. If you are into walking or cycling, then this is the perfect site as its a brilliant base to get to so many places.
For the record we are not pensioners, far from it, we are a couple who by the way have children, but like a site well run with high standards and a relaxed atmosphere.
All we can say is try it for yourself and make your own minds up!
As for the birds, unfortunately thats nature and thats what they do!
lisa griffiths (12th May 2013)
arrived at this site to find lovely surroundings, reception very wellcoming and informative, we were helped on with caravan to set up by owners pete an jean. after setting up we explored the site which was well kept, with immaculate amenities, showers and toilets and wash room were 5 star, wash up area with all the facilitities you need, lots of play area for children, with seperate dog walk [which are dog loved] just to add the views are to die for, there is also access to the white water rafting which is great to watch ,after 25 years of touring we would recommend this site to all who want a first class stay. Diane.
diane cooney (11th May 2013)
Just returned home from a 4 night stop at this really nice campsite, we were booked to go White Water Rafting and this is the nearest campsite to it, we could walk out of the gate 2 minutes and we were there. My brother and his wife and family were all meeting us there and we all agreed that this is the nicest site we have been on for a long time. The toilets are clean which is important to me, the owners and their new wardens were really friendly and helpful, we didn't have enough pegs for our awning and went into the shop to see if they sold them, they said they did not sell them but we could borrow some and how many did we want? that was great as I had more at home and did not really want to buy any, so they really helped me out. There were lots of little extras supplied on site too which all added to the enjoyment of our stay, the weather was sunny although the wind had a chill to it, it was great if you were sheltered ~AND IT DID NOT RAIN we even had a couple of BBQ's all in all we would recommend this site to anyone wanting a peaceful break beside a fantastic river.
Nadia (10th May 2013)
Response from Tyn Cornel Camping & Caravan Park
Thank you for your kind review, we hope to see you again in the future
Visited over May bank holiday/2013-for 2 nights with a four man tent with electric hook-up. On arrival we passed over a little bridge which crosses over the river Tryweryn very pretty and appealing. Checking in was a full on ear bashing, I have no problem with basic house keeping (maybe a piece of paper handed out with do's and dont's would be in my opinion more welcoming. We booked for the bank holiday weekend,should be for a minimum of 3 nights only but when we phoned a new member of staff (who was very pleasant and helpful) took our booking so we were allowed to stay for 2 nights, I feel that we were punished for this error as we were sent to the furthest point (pitch 18) under a large tree now my brand new tent has bird poo all over it arghhh. The reason given from the owner was that we would not disturb the others when we were leaving ? Strange thing is a trailer tent was leaving and packing up the same day as us. I feel that we were disturbed because right by us is the car turning point and the access gate to the walk by the river clangs and bangs . This campsite is ideal for kayakers for the fast flowing river, the river was the main thing that attracted us to the site, unfortunately the river noise is drowned out out by the busy A4212 which at night sounds like a race track. The showers and the toilets were immaculately clean let down by the showers being on a timer so u are having to constantly push the button. The showers and the toilets were closed for an hour between 11 am and 12 am, got to be the first campsite I have ever been to that this happens normally they work around you, whilst these were closed you had to use the loos in the non electric tent site, also the showers were not allowed to be used between 10pm and 7 am very bad in my opinion. The 3 night minimum on a bank holiday did not work out! as they had hardly any custom, maybe they should cater for people who can only do one or two nights. There are so many do's and don't signs plastered all over this campsite and it certainly made my stay not very pleasant in the washing up area I counted well over 20. I have been camping for many years now and this is the first time I have felt that I need to write a review I am so glad my children are older and that I do not have a dog as I feel this would of been even worse the kids are banished to a field no ball games or anything allowed by your tent. This site should be advertised for old age pensioners it is not family orientated...
Dave Molloy (8th May 2013)
Response from Tyn Cornel Camping & Caravan Park
We are very sorry that Dave Molloy, Claire and her son had such a bad time with us at Tyn Cornel we have very few complaints and are struggling to understand why they did not come to talk to us, we would happily have moved them to another pitch, it is not our policy to punish people!! The other couple moving off pitch at the same time as them had been here all week. Our policy is for a 3 nights stay but only on Electrical Hook up Pitch and only over a Bank Holiday, we had people staying 1 & 2 nights in the camping field. We went to great pains to place Dave on a pitch that was near to the River as he and the boy wanted to fish, we thought we were being thoughtful!!! They had friends wanting to join them but we did not take another 2 night booking with electric, and as it turned out they thought that Dave and Claire were on site on the Spring Bank Holiday the 24th May, so it would not have worked out for them anyhow. We had heard from other campers that they were unhappy as they had broken a tent pole on their “brand new”tent and had a major domestic over it so all in all they must have had a thoroughly miserable weekend which we are very sorry about. All the other points they mention are quite normal for all campsites, if sites do not close to clean it’s because they do not clean. The FREE showers here are open for 14 hours a day and yes they have a push button but that dispenses half a bucket of water at a time so not mean, and is it such a hardship to push a button? We also advertise PRIVATE showers with shower cubicles and controllable levers but perhaps Dave missed the SIGN for those? Ear bashing, what ear bashing we all thought we were having a chat? On admission we do tell guests that we lock the gates between 11pm & 8am and we close the amenities to clean at 11am for about an hour also telling them about the beautiful walk up to the dam passing the White Water Centre and asking them if they need a TV cable etc, all polite and informative as are most of the signs around site, either that or compulsory Health and Safety signs! We tried giving information handouts but people do not read them.
We do however apologise about the road noise, it is still a mystery to us why the A4212 was so busy on Saturday night, all the locals were wondering too? We think that there could have been an accident on the A494 Dolgellau road and the traffic had been diverted maybe, of course the season is so late this year we still do not have many leaves on the trees to buffer the road noise, which was unfortunate. You would not have heard the river on Saturday night Dave as it was turned off.