View all counties in this region

Humble Bee Farm in North Yorkshire

  • Photo of Humble Bee Farm
  • Photo of Humble Bee Farm
Please note that photos are not always of the actual campsite

Humble Bee Farm is a family-friendly campsite located on a working farm close to the Yorkshire Coast. Surrounded by the Yorkshire Wolds, Humble Bee includes electric and non-electric pitches, wigwams, holiday cottages and there is also a ground-floor holiday apartment, St Kitts, in nearby Filey.
Onsite facilities include a children's play area, two shower/toilet blocks, farm walks, farmyard friends, and an exciting events calendar. Don't forget to hire your firepit from us!
So why not join us 'down on the farm' and see if you can collect an egg for breakfast from one of the farm's free range hens. Look forward to seeing you soon!

Stayed at Humble Bee Farm?

Click here to write a review

Your Name
Email address
(not shown)
Date of your stay
Type of accommodation
Review details
Security check
Add your review
Please note that your email address is never divulged to the campsite owner or to any third party. It is simply used to verify your review and to enable us to cut down on spam submissions. There may be a delay of a few days between you submitting your review and it appearing on the site.


Reviews of Humble Bee Farm

I Have just returned from a stay at Humble Bee Farm and I cannot praise it highly enough. The pitches were ample for our large sized family tent with room to put up a windbreak and have a private area for our fire pit (which is a fab service, order in the morning for £8 and it is delivered ready to light with enough wood to keep you and your toasted marshmallows going all evening).
The site is geared towards families, which with a 3 year old girl suited us brilliantly, but there were also couples staying at the same time as us who seemed to enjoy it in equal measure.
The atmosphere of the campsite is summed up by the fact that my daughter was able to collect an egg from the hen house each morning for her breakfast on the way back from feeding the sheep and goats, who by the way have a lovely view over the duck pond.
I think this site is far from commercialised, the playground is enough to keep the kids entertained but not too much so as to detract from the endless opportunities for imaginative and safe experiences of being on a working friendly, accessible and safe farm in beautiful open countryside.
The owners could not have been more friendly or more helpful, to the point where I asked if it was OK to put some washing on in the laundry whilst we went out for the day because I needed to clean my daughters bedding, not only was it ok but when I returned it had been dried and folded for me because they were quiet that day.
The location, the site, the staff, the facilities were all fantastic, I can see me and my family returning her for quiet relaxing family holidays for years to come.
Off site – in the past I have given Scarborough a bit of a wide berth, but I should not have, it is a lovely seaside town, the beaches (particularly north) and the water quality were fantastic, there is plenty to do for children. Filey was also a gem, lovely beaches and the town was bustling with lots of independent shops. Dalby forest about 30 minutes by car is amazing; we hired bikes and a trailer and spent a very wet afternoon cycling through the forest.

All in all, great site, great location highly recommended!
Leggi (14th Sep 2012)
Response from Humble Bee Farm
hi there, many, many thanks for this lovely review - we do hope you can join us again sometime!
Reviewer: Lurcher Mac  (19)   Date of Visit: August 2011  Unit:  Campervan

Let me start by saying that we stayed at this site about 5 years ago and had a great time. We had been looking forward to returning.

Humble Bee Farm is situated next to the Wolds Way Footpath and is surrounded by beautiful scenery. It's close to Filey/Scarborough which are great for days out. The site has a small shop and there are no other shops within walking distance. There is a pub in the village (Foxhound Inn) that serves food.

Unfortunately, this site has changed dramatically. It is now a very overcrowded site. The pitches were close together. The people in the tent next to us took the car when they went out for the day, when they returned, a tent had pitched in their car space! This happened on other areas of the site and resulted in cars being parked/left on the 'road' through the site. This in turn caused problems with anyone wanting to take their cars on/off site. The site does have a children's play area but this is too small for the amount of pitches/people on site. This resulted in children playing cricket/football next to tents/cars/vans due to the lack of space anywhere else. Our van was regularly hit with tennis balls and footballs, as were other cars.

This site has become a really commercial site. It's the only certificated site where I have had to pay in advance and the site will only take a minimum booking of 2 nights. I also thought it was expensive (£22 per night without EHU), especially considering how many tents were rammed in. I don't mind paying more if there is space between the units but there isn't any room/space between pitches on this site.

Unfortunately, we won't be returning to this site as there are other, less crowded certificated sites in the area.
Lurcher Mac (27th Oct 2011)
Response from Humble Bee Farm

As a popular, family-friendly site with a loyal customer base, we don’t normally respond to reviews, but as this our only review on this website (which, incidentally, has been copied and pasted from a similar website), we did feel on this occasion we would make full use of our right to reply.

Having visited some five years ago, reviewer ‘Lurcher Mac’ will have indeed noticed the changes; from a camping field, we have developed the business to include electric and non-electric pitches, eight wigwams and three cottages, all located on our working farm.

Our business expanded due to popular demand, and our facilities have also improved as we’ve grown, so we now have two shower blocks, for example, and a play area for the children.

As well as our farm walks, we have the Wolds Way bordering our farm, so it’s an ideal site for ramblers.

‘Lurcher Mac’ points out the positives of Humble Bee Farm, for which we are grateful, but to say ‘Unfortunately, the site has changed dramatically’ is throwing bad light on a popular, well-maintained family-run campsite.

If she/he thinks that we were going to stay as a field for campers, then that was never our intention. Depending on the time of year, our site is busier at certain times and quieter at others, but we have always emphasized our family-friendly approach whatever the time of year.

The comments about cars spaces being taken over by other campers, cars being left on the ‘road’ (more accurately a farm track, completely in keeping with the farm as whole), children playing games – in a nutshell, becoming more commercialised – then perhaps you have come back to something that no longer exists due to the developments described above.

Our policy (having been let down by numerous customers) to pay in advance secures your pitch, and also gives us the security that a person will turn up (rather than not turn up, when we’ve turned away good custom, which is when we lose out completely). Anyone with an ounce of business sense will see this as a sensible approach. We’ve had only a tiny, tiny handful of people objecting to this fair policy. We do have a cancellation policy in place if someone is unable to join us.

‘Lurcher Mac’ thinks our site is expensive. Again, the reviewer is entitled to their opinion, but bear in mind the cleanliness of the site, the excellent facilities, the beautiful surroundings, and also in 2011 we launched our free events programme, so we think it is excellent value for money, considering many sites charge PER PERSON rather than PER PITCH (which is how we charge).

In conclusion, we would stress to ‘Lurcher Mac’ that it’s a shame that you won’t be returning, but we are in the fortunate position where many loyal customers return to us, and perhaps if the reviewer came at a quieter time of year, this would have been more suitable?

Humble Bee Farm