View all counties in this region

Stonehenge Campsite in Wiltshire

  • Photo of Stonehenge Campsite
  • Photo of Stonehenge Campsite
  • Photo of Stonehenge Campsite
  • Photo of Stonehenge Campsite
  • Photo of Stonehenge Campsite
  • Photo of Stonehenge Campsite
  • Photo of Stonehenge Campsite
  • Photo of Stonehenge Campsite
  • Photo of Stonehenge Campsite
  • Photo of Stonehenge Campsite
  • Photo of Stonehenge Campsite
  • Photo of Stonehenge Campsite
Please note that photos are not always of the actual campsite

We are a beautiful, small and multi-award winning glamping and campsite on a pretty 9-acre semi-woodland smallholding, close to Stonehenge. There are two good pubs within our village; a farm shop; fantastic local walking & Mountain Biking. We are an ideal touring base for the attractions of Longleat, Salisbury, Bath, Devizes, the New Forest, Salisbury Plain and its surrounding areas of interest and natural beauty.

Glamping: We have 4 luxury pods and 2 basic pods - most sleep two and cost from £45-£90 night. All pods offer heating, and have double beds, with our Fox Pod also offering a bunk bed for one child. All pods offer power, heating, a fridge & mini kitchen, plus picnic table.

Please note that we do not allow dogs in any of our Luxury Glamping Pods

Facilities: 12 large hardstandings, 25 EHUs, a new heated award-winning shower block, our well-appointed Camper's Kitchen with additional laundry facilities and 5 static and 10 mobile fire pits for hire.

Our site is dog, rally, family-group and responsible biker friendly. We are open March-October.

We offer access to excellent walking, cycling and mountain biking, good local fishing and 4x4 driving on Salisbury plain

Multi award-winning - winner of the David Bellamy Gold Award, Top 100 Site 2014/15/16, & 4* Tourist Board & 3 Pennant AA Grading, & platinum Loo of the Year for the second year running.

We actively encourage families & mature groups on our Campfire Field - we have lots of space to run around & play games on our 9 acre smallholding

We also hold the extremely popular Stonehenge Summer Solstice Festival from 18 -21 June 2016 @ £25/head/night plus pitch fee,
minimum stay 2 nights in camping field or 4 nights for pods and hard standing pitches. Please see our website for details.

Stayed at Stonehenge Campsite?

Click here to write a review

Your Name
Email address
(not shown)
Date of your stay
Type of accommodation
Review details
Security check
Add your review
Please note that your email address is never divulged to the campsite owner or to any third party. It is simply used to verify your review and to enable us to cut down on spam submissions. There may be a delay of a few days between you submitting your review and it appearing on the site.


Reviews of Stonehenge Campsite

NOT SUITABLE FOR DISABLED VISITORS OR GUESTS. Blamed council for not giving permission to build facilities. I only wanted a friend to come for a BBQ. We'd visited Amesbury services beforehand. The gentleman had sorted out and agreed a solution and he was happy. Then the woman warden/owner came over and was stressed about the wheelchair. My friend suggested that they need to look into getting the facilities. I said it wasn't clear on the website that they were none. I even offered to write a supportive letter, she said that even if they wanted to apply again she wouldn't because 'the disabled take up space'. It wasn't the fact that there was no facilities it was the attitude taken, either she was scared,ignorant or prejudiced or something else. Even without the disabled access problems, there's very little space between pitches for caravans. the site as a whole is cramped. It is not Romantic. There are other costs on site, like day visitors costs and showers etc, though some they state go to charity. I will be contacting that charity. Read every page more than once on their website before booking as it is easy to miss things. I'm not the only one who fell into traps etc. Asked for full refund and left as soon as I could.
Amber (25th Aug 2016)
Stayed here for three nights from the 28/01/2013 in the Glamping Pod. Arrived in heavy rain and wind, had booked a tent space but enquired upon arrival to see if the Pods were free and luckily for me they were, so i took one. Got a real good deal on price, real good, thanks Elaine, would have struggled in a tent in that weather. The Pod was so cosy and warm and quiet and peacful, (two heaters), plenty of lights with a toaster and kettle and crockery and cutlery ect ect, with cooking facilities and cool box and seating outside. The rest of the facilities at this site were good or very good i would say, showers toilets washing up facilities and so on, adequate and or good or very good. I also found the staff here to friendly good and helpful, they were there when needed. This campsite generally speaking looked well looked after and maintained and cared for and clean and tidy, reasonable prices too, would definitely recommend yes, i intend to go back for another stay in one of the Pods soon.
James Dunn (10th Feb 2013)
Response from Stonehenge Campsite
James Thanks for your kind review. Glad our Fox Pod saved you. They are very popular. Hope to see you soon William
Beautiful surroundings marred by poor hygienic facilities.Not enough lavatories and showers even when the site was not full, and not cleaned often enough.We like the fire pit but felt that at £10 for logs, they ought to have been chopped for us.
Caroline Hyams (19th Jul 2012)
Response from Stonehenge Campsite
Thank you for you feedback on our beautiful campsite see above feedback on facilities. We make campers chop their own firewood so they don't burn and waste wood. £10 for a Firepit and firewood is quite reasonable I think - we only have 4/5 pits and they are always fully let which I think is a good indicator that price is about right. William
I was frankly disappointed, as the surrounding countryside was beautiful, but the facilities did not match up. Not enough lavatories and showers or rubbish bins, I would not like to be there when it is full.
Caroline Hyams (19th Jul 2012)
Response from Stonehenge Campsite
Thank you for your review and i am sorry you were disappointed- we infact have 10 WCs, 4 Showers and 3 large 1100 litre rubbish bins. Our new £32,000 ladies shower block which arrived in March 2013 is getting very good reviews. kind regards William
A fantastic little campsite, with a very discerning and helpful owner. William (the owner) has worked really hard to create this lovely site, with all his landscaping and planting it really looks super. When the trees and bushes have matured it will look quite stunning. You couldn\'t wish for a more helpful person to make your stay pleasant, wether in a tent, caravan or motorhome, everyone is made welcome.
There are lots of places to visit within easy reach of the site, you only have to look on your map.
We stayed for two weeks, the weather was fantastic and we had a very relaxing time, also the dog loved it too. I hope this information will be of help to you. Highly recommended site, that will become very popular.
David Roberts (6th Oct 2011)
Response from Stonehenge Campsite
Thank you for your positive review on our beautiful award winning campsite. It's very nice when the last 3 years work get noticed!
Stayed on Williams site with a caravan for 3 days. Excellent little site with all the facilities we required. William is a very 'hands on' owner and nothing is too much trouble. He is constantly updating and improving the facilities and landscaping. He was arranging extra electrical plug in points whilst we were there.
I beleive that when he finally gets permission to put a sign up on the A303 this will be a very hard to get on site. I can thoroughly recommend this site.
Bob Morris (16th Aug 2011)
Response from Stonehenge Campsite
Thank for your kind words. nice to have you back again. I will make sure we always have a pitch free for you! chances of getting brown sign on A303 are slim - so you should be safe!! William
Wonderful three days at Stonehenge campsite. The owner, William, and his family could not be more helpful and welcoming. The site has a great fire pit - so sociable, surrounded by logs to sit on and with an enormous stockpile of wood. William went all out for the Solstice, laying on a wood-burning pizza oven to help hungry (and very wet) campers, coaches and plenty of loos.
The toilet blocks were impeccably clean when I was there, and always well-stocked with loo paper.
The area is lovely for walks, and we were recommended good pubs and walks to try.
In all, William went above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay peaceful and fun. I'll be returning year after year and would recommend this place to anyone. Thank you!
Deborah (15th Jul 2011)
Response from Stonehenge Campsite
Thanks guys. Thanks to my WC & Shower cleaning team
We had a very pleasant stay at Stonehenge Campsite. We are from the U.S., and came specifically to this area for the Summer Solstice at Stonehenge on Tuesday Morning June 21, 2011. The site was easy to reach via bus from the Salisbury train station, although you have to be sure to walk around the corner when leaving the rail station, to find the bus stop. Also, the last bus is at approximately 5:30 PM on weekdays, and it's much more expensive if you miss it and are forced to take a taxi. Keep this in mind if you are coming, and don't have your own transportation.

The shuttle provided by the campsite specifically for the Solstice, was quick, easy, and reasonable. Got us there and back, while cars were still backed up leaving the Stonehenge parking lot. We did not use the showers, but they looked nice and clean, especially for a campground. The owner of the site was pleasant, helpful in responding to email questions, and the other campers encountered at the site were friendly.

If we were coming again for the solstice, we would gladly stay here.
David S. (7th Jul 2011)
Response from Stonehenge Campsite
Thank you - yes site easy to get to on No 2 Bus from Salisbury or Devizes - bus stop at Campsite entrance!
What a great experience! We didn't quite know what to expect, visiting Stonehenge for the Solstice but the owner, William, was great. Very helpful, sociable and even laid on cheap coaches to the stones, 4 miles away. A great, friendly site with good walks, nice pubs, farm shop and garage close by. We willl definitely be back next year.
Kelvin Skyrme (30th Jun 2011)
Response from Stonehenge Campsite
Thank you guys - hope to see you soon in the future
Thank you William for another outstanding Summer Solstice celebration. Well organised, safe and peaceful. Even a bus laid on for transport to the stones. This is a fantastic little site, clean, tidy and very friendly, will see you again next year :)
Laura Goodfellow (22nd Jun 2011)
Response from Stonehenge Campsite
Thank you. The good news is we won all our 3 Appeals against WCC today and now have full planning for 25 Pitches and The Summer Solstice Festival for 2012. Only taken 2 years!!
i was ripped off in may by this site booked and paid deposit in jan. Arrived to find about 5 caravans being turned away because he was over booked. Refused to refund deposit but got that eventually but only after threatening to go to the police. I booked a caravan club cl that is what he told me he was. Well it isnt and he dosent even have planning permission. Holiday ruined
andy (9th Jun 2011)
Response from Stonehenge Campsite
We have full planning for our current use. I did not refuse to refund the £25 deposit - it was repayed in full. Our website clearly says we operate under a 28 day rule and are alowed 3 units. We are not a CL site. I had to transfer these guys to a sister site which I sorted and visited. I wish you well and have offered a discounted visit at a future date. William
Excellent site with 5 hardstandings and with a separate camping area. The site is extremely well planned with lots of hedges and trees/plants recently planted.
Now the bad news the the toilet block has only 1 gents combined toilet shower unit and only 1 ladies combined toilet shower unit although the shower was clean the toilet/area was not, we refused to use it.
Being a 5 van site we never checked the prices when booking,normally about £10 per night, we paid the £25 deposit as requested.
Upon leaving we were presented for a bill of £54. which spoilt the whole experience of staying at this site. £27 per night is ridiculous
Mr P Bennett (6th Jun 2011)
Response from Stonehenge Campsite
What Mr Bennett fails to mention was he only booked on Thursday because all the other local sites were full as its peak season. He had a large 9 metre 6 Berth motorhome, on dulux extra large hardstanding, EHU, awning, extra car ,dog and stayed 2 nights. The shower block is cleaned twice a day. Are charges are clearly set out on our website. Our site is a high quality exclusive site - I fully accept that we are not the cheapest and that it would be nice if WCC would give us planning for a swish new shower block. However I think we provide value for money. William
An excellent new campsite. The owner William is very friendly and helpful. There are clean loos and showers and a firepit that I love. Wood can be found locally.
I really enjoyed all the walks and pubs nearby,so I didn't have to leave the campsite. There is also a farm shop that sells local produce including free range eggs.... a sweet campsite of a high standard
gabrielle attwood (28th Jun 2010)
Response from Stonehenge Campsite
Thanks guys for your kind review - always nice to get positive feedback
We stayed on this great campsite for 2 nights in June 2010. We were greeted on arrival and immediately made welcome. William was extremely well organised and very friendly. The toilets/showers/washing up areas were very well appointed, being clean and well-stocked with a fab hot shower. The site is nicely sign-posted and well set out with proper areas for rubbish and recycling, and there are ample drinking water taps around the site. William was reassuringly present but never imposing; we knew he would be there if we needed anything at all (and the complimentary choc ices on a very, very hot day were a real hit!). We really could not have asked for better facilities and would most definitely recommend this site to anyone camping around the Stone Henge area.
Sue Buck (23rd Jun 2010)
Response from Stonehenge Campsite
Thank You hope to see you again soon