View all counties in this region

Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravanning Park in County Durham

Stayed at Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravanning Park?

Click here to write a review

Your Name
Email address
(not shown)
Date of your stay
Type of accommodation
Review details
Security check
Add your review
Please note that your email address is never divulged to the campsite owner or to any third party. It is simply used to verify your review and to enable us to cut down on spam submissions. There may be a delay of a few days between you submitting your review and it appearing on the site.


Reviews of Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravanning Park

Strawberry Hill

Booked just a few nights but stayed for score!
Was searching 'Best Campsites', now searching no more.
Nestled in nature was this leafy idyll,
A beautiful campsite... Strawberry Hill.

This south-facing campsite got the best of the day
With plenty of foliage to break strong winds away.
Generous pitches: hard, soft, E.H.U.
'Tween tree-screened terraces to deflect prying view.

Each terrace: its own water and recycling bins.
(Main Block had an Elsan Point hidden therein)
Bins emptied daily and grass cut each week
But rabbits and wildlife could still play hide 'n' seek.

Main Block: there's free showers and toilets (without wait)
And were daily maintained to immaculate state;
A separate disabled room tucked round the side;
A food prep/dish-washing bay sheltered inside.

There's a washer and a dryer and a rotary line.
Paid-Only usage: not tokens nor fixed daily fine.
No noise or poor conduct (Owners made frequent rounds)
Just the A181 bypass with daytime road sounds.

Owners Elizabeth and Howard, for whom nought was a task,
Were so friendly and kind... campers need only ask!
Alas, back to the Rat-Race, else I'd be camped there still!
A beautiful campsite... Strawberry Hill.

-FF August 2014
Fiona Furness (31st Aug 2014)
A lovely camp site. Tents and caravans are on different fields. Quiet and very clean and well kept. Howard and Elizabeth could not have been more friendly or helpful. A good weekend and would return again to this excellent camp site.
Bethan (1st Aug 2012)
Response from Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravanning Park
Thank you for your kind remarks. Look forward to seeing you again!
Excellent campsite & good owners. Good facilities ,
mac (7th Jul 2012)
A nasty surprise.
The owner would not allow me and my son on the site because we had a van. When I ask if our money was not good enough, the reply I got was, "Your money is, but you are not." I ended up going to Bobby Shafto's near Beamish, which was fantastic. I would not recommend anyone going here.
Rob (10th Jun 2012)
Response from Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravanning Park
I am saddened that this gentleman has recalled our conversation in this manner I have a different recollection of events. We state very clearly on our web site that we don't accept vans, had he have telephoned and booked as opposed to just turning up he would not have had a wasted journey. I did apologise to this camper and I can understand his frustration but there is no excuse for his rude manner, that being walking away and still trying to have a conversation with his back turned. In summarry I did appologise but we don't accept vans.